Winning awards in the legal sector can be such a great boost for your profile – both as a firm and for individuals/projects and practice areas you are particularly looking to highlight and grow.

It may be that you have just collated lots of valuable information for your legal directory entries which you may be able to re-use and repurpose for your awards submissions.

The award ceremonies themselves are a great opportunity to network and embed your brand in your local community, sector, or area of expertise – so even if you don’t win, you win.

In most cases, entering awards is free (there are some with a nominal payment attached or a request for a charity donation), so it is a cost-effective way to build your credibility, gain “independent endorsement”, attract talent, and boost morale.

We have put together the following lists of awards to give you a flavour of what is out there in terms of options along with a guide on when submissions need to be made. Whilst these lists are by no means definitive, they will give you information on some of the great many reputable awards that are out there for the taking! We have put the listings into 3 categories:

  • Mainstream legal awards which are aimed exclusively at law firms/ lawyers
  • Regional legal awards and business awards with professional services/ legal categories
  • Practice area-specific awards


Award ` Deadline for entry Awards ceremony
British Legal Technology Awards 9th Jul 11th Nov
Chambers UK Bar Awards 18th Nov
FT Innovative Lawyers Awards 14th Sept 14th Oct
Law Society Excellence Awards 7th Oct
LawWorks Pro Bono Awards
Lawyer Monthly Legal Awards
Legal Business Awards 30th Sept
LexisNexis Legal Awards Nov 30th Mar 2022
LPM’s Practice Excellence Awards
Modern Law Awards
National Paralegal Awards 2nd Jul 23rd Sept
People in Law Awards 5th May 2022
SME News Legal Awards 5th Mar TBC
The ACQ Law Awards
The British Legal Awards 17th Nov
The Butler Trust Awards 30th Jun TBC
The Lawyer Awards 9th Jul 2nd Nov
The Legal 500 Awards UK 12th Feb 2022
The Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year Awards (LALYs) 6th Jul
The Legal Week Innovation Awards 28th May
The UK Diversity Legal Awards 13th Aug 30th Nov



There are a few law societies that have legal awards. We have also highlighted some more general business/region-specific awards which have a professional services/legal category. There will be many more not listed here – it is worth researching which awards in your local area have a legal/professional advisor category, or simply a “business of the year” category that you’re eligible to submit to.


Award Deadline for entry Award Ceremony
Brighton and Hove Business Awards (Professional services category) 24th Jun
County Business Clubs (Sussex) Legal Services Category 22nd Apr
Dorset Legal Awards
Gatwick Diamond Business Awards (Professional services firm) 19th Nov 17th Mar 2022
Leicestershire Law Society Legal Awards
Liverpool Law Society Legal Awards 4th Nov
Made in Manchester Awards (Lawyer of the year category 11th Nov 3rd Feb 2022
South Wales Law Awards
Surrey Business Awards (Professional Services Award) 17th Sept 18th Nov
Surrey Law Society Awards 16th Sept
The Yorkshire Legal Awards 25th Jun 7th Oct
Wales Legal Awards

Legal practice area awards

There are also some practice area-specific awards you can get involved with, covering areas such as family law, conveyancing, commercial property, corporate, private wealth/wealth management.

Award Deadline for entry Award Ceremony
Insider South East Dealmakers awards 2nd Sept
Insider North East Dealmakers awards 16th Sept
Insider Central/East of England Dealmakers awards 18th Nov
Insider South West Dealmakers awards 15th Sept
Estates Gazette EG Awards 28th Oct
The RESI Awards 1st Dec
Insider Yorkshire Property Awards
Insider South West Property Awards 18th Mar 2022
Insider West Midlands Property Awards
Insider North West Residential Property Awards 17th Sept
Insider North West Property Awards 21st Oct
The British Wills and Probate Awards 21st Oct
STEP Private Client Awards 31st Jan 2022 TBC
Personal Injury Awards 23rd Nov
Modern Law Conveyancing Awards 25th Nov
British Conveyancing Awards 7th April May
Magic Circle Awards 17th Sept 17th May 2022
Family Law Awards 24th Nov
Lawyer Monthly Expert Witness Awards

How can we help you?

We specialise in providing professional services firms support with their award or legal directory entries. So, if you’d like some help deciding which awards to enter, or support to put your entry together, please do email Lara or call her on 01903 530787.

Listed under:
EventsMarketing for Law FirmsMarketing Strategy